MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#85
Luis Cessa
ERA S K
4.93 2 31
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-0 / 208
Position: RPBorn: 4/25/1992 Birthplace: Cordoba, Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mets (2008)


Latest News
Sep. 23 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on three hits in 3.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Sunday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Luis Cessa recorded his second save, allowing no runs on three hits in 3.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 11-0 on Friday. Cessa struck out four, ending the game with a 4.93 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST9:51 PM CST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs on four hits in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-2 on Monday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on three hits in 3.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-2 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Luis Cessa recorded his first save, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-3 on Saturday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.34 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Luis Cessa fell to 1-3, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-1 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out four, ending the game with a 5.60 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed five runs on seven hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 15-7 on Thursday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 25 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST1:24 PM CST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Luis Cessa fell to 1-2, allowing two runs on four hits in 5.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 9 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Luis Cessa improved to 1-1, allowing three hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-2 on Monday. Cessa struck out four, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
June 27 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Luis Cessa fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-0 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked two and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Friday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 21 8:13 AM PT9:13 AM MT10:13 AM CT11:13 AM ET11:13 ET15:13 GMT23:13 8:13 AM MST10:13 AM EST9:13 AM CST10:43 AM VEN19:13 UAE10:13 AM CT-The Yankees activated Cessa from the DL prior to Thursday's game against Seattle.
Analysis: Cessa returns from missing two months with a strained left oblique. He's ticketed for a long relief role as of new, though he'll be a candidate to start should any of the Yankees' rotation members get hurt.
June 11 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)10:58 PM CT-Cessa made his first game appearance in nearly two months, struggling with his control as he allowed two runs over 1 2/3 innings for the Class A Tampa Tarpons in a 4-1 loss to Philadelphia's Clearwater Threshers on Monday night.
Analysis: Cessa pitched four innings over three relief appearances in early April, then went on the disabled list with a left oblique strain. New York is looking for starting pitching. No. 5 starter Jordan Montgomery had Tommy John surgery last week and Masahiro Tanaka will be sidelined for at least several weeks after injuring both hamstrings running the bases.
Apr. 17 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Miami Marlins 9-1 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 14-1 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-3 on Saturday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 NYY 4 4 0 - 0 17 9 0 70.1 64 36 34 16 14 0 46 1.11 4.35
2017 NYY 0 3 0 - 0 10 5 0 36.0 36 21 19 7 17 0 30 1.47 4.75
2018 NYY 1 3 2 - 2 14 4 0 41.1 45 22 22 4 13 0 34 1.40 4.79
Career 5 10 2 - 2 41 18 0 147.2 145 79 75 27 44 0 110 1.28 4.57

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 NYY 14 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 41 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 279 98 90 94.8 43.53
Curveball 29 84 78 80.7 4.52
Slider 253 87 80 83.9 39.47
Changeup 80 89 82 86.1 12.48

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.